Odette…Ocean, Ocean…Odette

Last week we drove down to Florida for our first vacation since Odette has been home. I am so glad we planned it back in the winter because we wouldn’t have gone had we known we now had 2 kids on the way. Back in January we were worried that A coming home might interfere with a June vacation, but as soon as we caught wind of the new Embassy investigation process we booked our house. We actually traveled down with dear friends of ours. They invited us to crash their vacation two years ago and we had so much fun that we decided to give it a go again with Odette in tow.

2011 06 09_Destin_0195DSCN2557

Our growing families required us to take 2 cars this time, but we were stoked to figure out that our 2 additions will fit for the next vacation. (Yes, I am laughing out loud at the thought that we will actually be able to take a vacation with three kids.)

To say that Odette loved the ocean would be an understatement. We went to Lake Michigan last summer, so she had a idea of the beach, but I wasn’t sure what she would think of the huge body of water crashing into her.

039136138093094095

She loved playing in the water with her friends and also goofing around with us.

12

054056069110169

She was also perfectly content to play in the sand.

4050121244

While there we celebrated Father’s Day with the best daddy that I know!

045

We had some stormy and rainy weather there, but we didn’t let it slow us down.

049

085

Jeff and I enjoyed starting our days like this. (Yes, mom, it’s decaf.)

099092142148

It wouldn’t be vacation if we didn’t go out to eat.

126127DSC_0482DSC_0475

Playing in the pool was also a big hit for everyone. (Except for Jeff’s phone. It died.)

1871721775

During our down time we had fun around the house although I didn’t many pictures of it.

091

We played a lot of cornhole and mini cornhole.

128133

242

One night we went on a dolphin cruise and had a lot of luck.

196

199

203198208211225228

A beach with baby tip from Pinterest. Dig a shallow hole, cover it with a vinyl tablecloth, and fill with water. Instant baby friendly tide pool.

098

A few miscellaneous pictures.

125250DSC_0446065DSC_0424DSC_0440

Our last night there we had a special family night and took Odette on a Pirate Adventure.

249252253257262271

I got roped into the mommy hoola hoop contest. As you can see, I was thrilled. I came in second and only lost when we had to hoola hoop on one foot. Holla. The captain called out Jeff and asked him if he was impressed with his wife and then made him try to do better. Sadly, I only have video and no still pictures. I will save Jeff the embarrassment because I’m sure he’d magically remember the blog password and post the video of me.

276277300322

I almost forgot about the pictures from our makeshift photo shoot on the beach.

DSC_0507DSC_0513DSC_0521DSC_0572

We were sad to say goodbye to our little house on the beach.

324325326

063

Love,

Jeff, Sarah, Odette, A, and Baby

146

3 thoughts on “Odette…Ocean, Ocean…Odette

  1. Hey Sarah! I’ve been reading your blog for a couple of months now and I’ve really loved it! I am only 16 but I have some really close friends that are adopting from Congo, and I want to be a missionary in Africa so I’ve been keeping up with lots of blogs from adopting parents. I love yours! Anyways, I couldn’t help but notice the “Destin” pictures because I live in Destin. I hope you enjoyed it! Too bad I didn’t know y’all were coming, we could have taken the boat out on the gulf or the bayous and really shown you the best places. Either way I’m glad you enjoyed your stay! God bless! And thank you for obeying God’s call to adoption, I think a lot of times obedience is something we mistake for mere suggestions.

  2. It looks like a wonderful vacation!
    On a side note, I have a question – every time you post a picture of Odette in that rainbow chevron dress I think about how cute it is on her and wonder where you got it. Could you share where the rainbow chevron dress is from? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

