This and That

Thank you for all the kind words and congrats about our latest news.  I’m still floating up on cloud 9 about the major moves being made toward bringing A home, but I thought I’d catch you all up on what we have been doing around here.

We continue to try to pour into Odette.  We’ve been playing lots of games together, reading tons of books, and just plain spending time together.  Amazingly, the difference in her attitude and behavior is almost instant.

IMG_0638IMG_0647

Back in the winter, before I was pregnant, we were invited by friends to join them in a color run coming to town in September.  I’ve seen lots of pictures on blogs of people having fun at them and thought we would have a blast running it with them.  Needless to say plans changed.  We almost didn’t even bother going down at all, but then figured that Odette would get a kick out of it.  I tried my best to explain it to her before hand and she said that she didn’t want to get her clothes dirty.  (That’s my girl!  She may have heard me talk about that a time or two. : ) ) Jeff ran the race and Odette and I cheered from the sidelines.  We made friends with lots of people and ended up pretty covered in color ourselves.

IMG_0657IMG_0662IMG_0663

After the race we cleaned ourselves up and took advantage of the cooler weather by heading the apple orchard.  It was a gorgeous day for stomping through the trees collecting and eating too many delicious apples.

IMG_0684IMG_0686

We sat and had a little apple picnic in the middle of the orchard when mama needed a break.  As usual, Odette provided the entertainment.  This kid really needs to be on stage.

IMG_0689IMG_0691IMG_0706IMG_0708

With bags overflowing with apples we had to make some yummy treats.  Odette put in her request.

IMG_0720IMG_0721IMG_0726

Have I mentioned before how many cool things I have found on Pinterest?  I wish I could take credit for this one, but I can’t.  In keeping with being intentional with our free time with Odette, I decided to kick up our typical family walk to appeal to her more.  We wrapped her wrist with tape, sticky side out, and showed her how to stick all of her nature finds to it.  (Please tell me that you aren’t surprised that painters tape was what we had handy.)

IMG_0769IMG_0771IMG_0773IMG_0775

Check out this face.  Where does she come up with this stuff?

IMG_0776

Now you are up to date.  And stay tuned, I think tomorrow will be a BIG day in the world of our adoption.

Sarah Signature

2 thoughts on “This and That

Leave a Reply

