A.A.Qs answered

Some people post F.A.Qs. We actually did that the first time around. I am here tonight answering the A.A.Qs. Already Asked Questions

Since making the big announcement I’ve been flooded with questions from every angle: texts, emails, FB messages, phone calls, pigeons, and sky writing.

**I will preface to say that this journey has been in the works for a while. There is so much back story to share. You will get to hear it, most of it at least. I will tell you that God’s hands were all over it. It is actually becoming more clear as each day goes on.

But first, let’s answer those burning questions.

Are you adopting again?

Yes.

Are you pregnant?

No.

Do you have a referral?

Yes, we do! We are hoping to bring home a little boy, who we will call Little A on the blog (to protect his identity).

How old is he?

Anywhere from 2 1/2 to 4ish. For real. That puts him right around Odette’s age.

Are you with the same agency?

No, our adoption this time is independent. I am not sure how much I can/will share, but God placed before us an opportunity to work with a WONDERFUL organization with a HUGE mission in Congo. We are so blessed to be a part of it. Hoping it is a lifelong connection to beautiful DRC for us.

Are you/have you started fundraising?

At this point we don’t plan to fundraise for this adoption. Since the process for Odette, we have been funneling a large sum of our paychecks into an adoption account. We didn’t stop transferring the money once she was home. Those savings, combined with the Federal Adoption Tax Credit (that I really pray doesn’t get held up in endless red tape), will allow us to pay for the adoption without having to fundraise. *Fingers crossed*

Is he at the same orphanage that Odette was at?

No.

When did you start?

Talking about number 2-July Actively pursuing and researching-September

When did you get the referral?

A few days before Christmas

Did you request a boy?

Yes.

Is this what your protected posts were about?

No.

Will you go back to work in August?

I am not quitting my job. Depending on when Little A comes home I may take some time off at the beginning of the next school year just like I would have done with Odette if she needed it.

Where are you in the process?

Right at the beginning. We are “paper ready” and have our referral but that is all.

When will he come home?

We are thinking it will be June/July. It is really hard to estimate since we are so early in the process.

Will you travel again to get him?

Absolutely.

Will you take Odette?

No.

When will you have a baby?

One of these days.

What does Odette think?

She is excited, but we’ve kept it really low-key with her. We’ve told her that we are praying Little A will get to be in our family, but don’t refer to him much as her brother. (How we told her is worthy of its own post.)

Are you crazy?

Most likely.

I think those about cover the questions I’ve heard. If I missed one, feel free to leave a comment and I will try to answer as best as I can.

Many thanks to all of you who have sent along your congratulations. We are beyond excited to be bringing home Little A. (Then, we’ll have A and O. We will just need to fill in with a E, I, U. Kidding, Jeff. kind of…)

Sarah Signature

7 thoughts on “A.A.Qs answered

  1. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I found your blog today, I think through kelly’s Korner link up. We have 2 kids we foster to adopted (they are now 6 and 3). We think we are 90% ready to start a DRC adoption!! Not sure how old y’all are, but we are a young adopt couple too. We’re now 25 and 27.

    • Hate to admit that we both rolled the 3-0 in the last month. Congrats to you! I say go for it (with caution). DRC is an amazingly beautiful place full of amazingly, beautiful and strong people.

  2. So excited for your family! We received our referral the day after Christmas so we’re walking this road together right now with independent adoptions. 🙂 Can’t wait to follow your journey!

  3. I am SO-O-O happy for all of you. I pray for everything to be easy, relatively speaking, and happy. Odette will be so excited to be a big sister. You know how kids love to have someone around they can teach. Wonderful for you!!!!

Leave a comment